Saturday, April 18, 2015

RajMan Reviews' Top Four Star Wars Movies

To mark the occasion of the recently released teaser for Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens, here is my list of my top four Star Wars movies of all time. Initially, I was going to make it a top three list, but then the list would have been dominated entirely by the original trilogy. So to make the list more fair, I am expanding it to the top four.

1. Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope (1977)
2. Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back (1980)
3. Star Wars: Episode VI – Return of the Jedi (1983)
4. Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith (2005)

--Raj Manoharan

RajMan Reviews' Top Ten Superhero Movies

To mark the occasion of the recently released teaser for the highly anticipated 2016 movie Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, as well as the forthcoming releases this year of Marvel's Avengers: Age of Ultron, Ant-Man, and Fantastic Four, I offer my list of what I believe are the top ten superhero movies of all time.

1. Superman (1978)
2. Man of Steel (2013)
3. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
4. Batman (1989)
5. Batman Begins (2005)
6. The Dark Knight (2008)
7. The Dark Knight Returns (2012)
8. Batman (1966)
9. Iron Man 2 (2010)
10. Thor (2011)

--Raj Manoharan

RajMan Reviews' Top Ten Superhero TV Shows

With all the superhero shows proliferating on television lately, I think it's about time I offer my list of what I believe are the top ten superhero TV shows of all time. Here it is.

1. Adventures of Superman (1950s)
2. Batman (1960s)
3. The Amazing Spider-Man (1970s)
4. The Incredible Hulk (1970s/1980s)
5. The Greatest American Hero (1980s)
6. Superboy (1980s/1990s)
7. The Flash (1990s)
8. Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman (1990s)
9. Arrow (2010s)
10. The Flash (2010s)

--Raj Manoharan

TV – Superman Returns! See the Dawn of Justice on Me TV Before It Arrives in Theaters!

This is what I wrote back on December 28, 2013:

Watching Batman and Wonder Woman on Me TV is a great way to prepare for the Man of Steel sequel set for release in 2015, with Henry Cavill reprising his role as Superman and joined by Ben Affleck as Batman and Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman. Now all Me TV needs to do is add the 1950s series The Adventures of Superman to the lineup.”

My thought has become reality as The Adventures of Superman is now part of Me TV's Super Sci-Fi Saturday Nights lineup.

The classic show starring George Reeves as TV's first live-action Man of Steel kicks off a super-powered evening of super-heroics at 6:00 p.m., followed by Adam West and Burt Ward as the Caped Crusading Dynamic Duo in Batman at 7:00 p.m. and Lynda Carter as the original warrior princess in Wonder Woman at 8:00 p.m.

Now, thanks to Me TV, super fans will be super ready to anticipate the theatrical release (now set for 2016) of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, starring Henry Cavill, Ben Affleck, and Gal Gadot as Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman, respectively, and introducing a host of other legendary DC Comics superheroes.

--Raj Manoharan

Paul Speer Live Online Concerts to Be Rescheduled Due to Technical Issues

Stay tuned for further information.

--Raj Manoharan

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Paul Speer to Perform Live Concerts Online This Weekend

If you aren’t familiar with the cutting edge sounds of electric guitarist Paul Speer, this weekend is the perfect opportunity for you to make his acquaintance.

The six-string ace will be performing three concerts live from his studio in Memphis, Tennessee, on Friday, April 17, and Saturday, April 18. He will also participate in online discussions with attendees afterwards.

The minimum ticket donation is $1 per show, with $10 fetching you not only the scheduled performance of your choice, but also a signed copy of Speer’s latest album, Ax Inferno.

Visit for show times and tickets.

--Raj Manoharan

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Geoffrey Lewis (1935-2015): Fare Thee Well, Old Friend

Another star we said goodbye to this month is Geoffrey Lewis. He was not an icon on the level of Leonard Nimoy or even James Best, but he was a very familiar face in movies and on television, with a somewhat recognizable name. He appeared in many films with Clint Eastwood and was the father of actress Juliette Lewis.

I first became consciously aware of Geoffrey Lewis in 1990, when I rented a videocassette of the 1983 TV movie The Return of the Man from U.N.C.L.E.: The Fifteen Years Later Affair. Lewis and Anthony Zerbe were the main villains facing off against Robert Vaughn and David McCallum, who returned to their roles as Napoleon Solo and Ilya Kuryakin from the 1960s TV series The Man from U.N.C.L.E.

I next saw Lewis in Only the Strong, a 1993 movie I reviewed for TV Key. Lewis played a veteran high school teacher who rallies behind new teacher Mark Dacascos, who steers wayward students onto the right path by teaching them a Brazilian dance-like martial art called capoeira. This was also the first time I saw Dacascos, who has since enjoyed a respectable career in film and television, including his recurring role as criminal mastermind Wo Fat on Hawaii Five-0.

Lewis’s role in Only the Strong made an impression on me. As much as it was his performance, I think it was also the fact that Lewis very closely resembled my high school journalism teacher John Urciuoli. That’s probably why, in addition to his reliable acting skills, Lewis seemed natural as an educator.

You can find out more about Geoffrey Lewis at his page on the Internet Movie Database (

--Raj Manoharan